View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 9:53 pm

Hi I'm New And I'm A Bus Driver Wannabe 

Post Hi I'm New And I'm A Bus Driver Wannabe
I passed the screening test with Metrobus and I have been invited to an assessment day on Tuesday to do a highway code and maths test. I'm looking forward to it and i'm wondering how many stages do you have to go through before you are given a provisional offer of a job prior to training? What questions are asked in the interview and what questions should I be asking? How long is the interview?

Also in the medical and the eye test do they still require you to read a Snellen chart from 3 metres without your glasses on if you wear them and if so why? Surely if you wear glasses it means you cannot see without them? If they do still require you to then it wouldn't be worth me going on Tuesday would it because I have poor eyesight without my glasses.

Kim

Fri May 25, 2012 10:00 pm

Post Re: Hi I'm New And I'm A Bus Driver Wannabe
Is this a Metrobus in London (Croydon, Crawley & Orpington) ?

I work for a London bus operator, I went in as a PCV license holder but basically it's the same for trainees

- Maths & Highway code test
- Driving assessment
- Interview
- Medical
- Job offer pending successful references & CRB check
- Job offer with start date - and applying for provisional D entitlement
- Training start: theory, practical and CPC exams
- Once you've passed or you have a PCV license it's basic route learning, ticket machine use, how to use iBus, issued the Big Red Book (a book with scenarios and how you should react to them like TfL's mystery shoppers), customer service, type training on the vehicles (how to operate the equipment, start different buses etc.)